anyone using 2 2x12s (open and closed back?)

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

okstrat

Reaction score
Here's what I'm thinking... running my RM4 - RT2/50 rig with an open back 2x12 and a closed back 2x12 for gigs instead of a 4x12 cab. Why?

Well, I could run my cleans out the open back
Grindy tones out the closed

Anyone else doing this? If I could find a pair of great sounding 1x12s I'd do that, but I'd like both cabs to be the same size so I can stack them. I'm already using a rack, so I'm not that worried about fitting a head on there.

Heck, wonder if I should just make 1/2 of my marshall sealed, open up the top 2 speakers and mic that? ;)

Pete

That's a great idea, Pete. I've been experimenting with running two amps for the last 3 years now. i've been running my open back Fender Twin, with 2X12 Eminence with my RM100 w/ 2X12 MTS closed back, the sound is huge. Clean tones are much more fuller and the notes have way more depth to them.

Yeah, I've been doing this for several years now... I use an Avatar open-back 2x12 with G12H's and a closed-back 2x12 with V30's (also did a setup with the open 2x12 atop a 4x12). I did the RT2/50 channel switching thing for a while, but ultimately decided that I liked the sound of both cabs running simultaneously better than the individual cabs. Now I'm using a VHT2502 and use slightly different voicing options for each cab.

--B

Those are the ones with the old school electrovoice drivers right? Those sound HUGE! Would love to stack one of those along my recto 2x12!

metalmm785 said:
Those are the ones with the old school electrovoice drivers right? Those sound HUGE! Would love to stack one of those along my recto 2x12!