Broken level dial

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ashishk

Reaction score
Hey guys,

The level dial/knob on my 1086 broke completely off. Its the wierdest thing I have ever seen. The plastic bit still had the metal in it, and it looks like a laser cut which severed the 2. Seriously, its that wierd. I think it must have broken when I was carrying it from the car to the studio, the front plate facing me.

So I dont see anyway of reattaching the piece, short of using superglue which just seems like a waste of time, since im glueing metal. This means I may have to replace that component alltogether.

I am no electrician, so my knowledge here is really at the base of the learning curve. I think I need to replace component VR5 (refering to PCB board of the UltraXL schematic)... but remember mine is a 1086.

My question is, what is that component called? Can I just run to a Radio Shack equivalent here and buy one or is there a certain capacitance/resistance? Is it a solder job I can do by myself?

Many thanks guys!

Cheers,
Ashish

I just had the same problem with my RM50 Mids knob, broke off just like that. I think it easier just to replace the **** knob with something else, it wouldn't be cosmetically pleasing though, since the 1086 have their own style knobs.

tung said:
I just had the same problem with my RM50 Mids knob, broke off just like that. I think it easier just to replace the **** knob with something else, it wouldn't be cosmetically pleasing though, since the 1086 have their own style knobs.
Hi Tung!

I'm not fussed about cosmetics. Its just that, I cant turn the level dial anymore. Its broken at the base of the metal, not the plastic. So i have to replace the component.

So yeah, any help on the specs would be awesome. Thanks again!

You need a new potentiometer..find out from teh Randall guys what value it is..then order one online...