Can I do this?

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chuckmehh

Reaction score
Alright, so I'm going to get back into the MTS game :D. I missed you guys and the badass tones to be had here. They always come back....

Anyway, I want an RM4 and power amp this time rather than an RM100.

I already have a Carvin TS100 power amp with El34's, so I just need an RM4 and some modules.

Now, my roommate and I BOTH want to play through the Carvin, so will this work?

I take channel 1 of the Carvin, run the RM4 into it and into my cab (8 ohm cab).

He gets a preamp (probably an Engl e530), runs it into channel 2 of the Carvin, then into HIS cab (also an 8 ohm cab).

Can you do that? I've never tried anything even close to this before, so I'm just wondering if you can split two guitarists with their own preamps/cabs into the same power amp.

Would I set the power amp to 4 ohms?

Thanks!

crankyrayhanky said:
if it's 2 separate channels, it should work....but IDK for sure

Yeah it is two separate channels; 50 watts per side or 100 bridged in mono.

Second opinions?

Assuming each channel has its own speaker outputs with separate impedance selection it should work fine. You shouldn't need to make any impedance compensation either. If Ch A is going to an say an 8-ohm cab, use the 8-ohm output or switch-setting on Ch A. While if at the same time Ch B is going to say a 4-ohm cab, then use the 4-ohm output/switch-setting on Ch B.

Just don't bridge the channels together . . .

You also might need to dick with the ground lift switches on the preamps and the power amp to get a compatible combination that is hum-free . . .

HughJasol said:
You also might need to dick with the ground lift switches on the preamps and the power amp to get a compatible combination that is hum-free . . .