Doing my first live Performance. Advice Needed!

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MorgMetal666

Reaction score
Hey, I'm 17 and I've had my rm100kh since the summer. I haven't gotten to play in a loud environment with it or with other people so I was wondering what are some basic things to know?
I'm gonna be playing a Metallica medley with another guitar player who's borrowing a Mesa Mark IV, a bassist and a pretty loud drummer, no singer. I've got the kh-3 and 1086 with the MXR 10 band eq in the loop, so what type of sample setting or master controls should be used? I'll be using my jackson rr1 w/ emg 81/85 and running a boss ch-1 in the front. I'm not sure where the best place for my Carbon copy is either, so...help would be greatly appreciated.
I'm a total noob at this stuff, so from the guys with gigging experience, i'm looking for some advice on how to set up the gear.
I'm also playing in a theatre if that makes a difference.

thanks and if i left anything out, ask me for whatever info is needed.

The density control is something I adjust according to the environment...in a theater you would probably need less, maybe 10 o'clock- than at a small practice room where I put it at noon, or home where I pump it up to 2 o'clock

I would also work hard at getting the volumes even across the modules, unless you're going for a slight volume boost on one for solos. Nothing worse than uneven cut/boost going from clean to crunch to clean

Most of all, enjoy the moment! Have a blast

thanks, that's the info i was after. What about eq'ing? I'm thinking if i scoop the mids too much it'll sound muddy. Most metallica tones i get at low volumes sound good, but aren't as clear when i increase the volume. Maybe the 10 band can keep the clarity in check while still being heavy.