MTS Transformer Upgrades are here!

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soulinsane

Reaction score
I just got word today from Mercury Magnetics that the RM100 transformer upgrade set is complete. I'm placing the first order for this set this Friday and will be the first to have them. I will have to modify the chassis of my RM100 because the new transformers have a larger foot print but it will be no problem for me. I wanted to adjust the transformer positions anyway to find the lowest noise floor. Once done, I'll be the one writing up a detailed installation guide.

If anyone is interested in ordering any of these for their RM100 let me know. I'm also a Randall fan and will be here to help with any information I can provide. I'm an authorized tech/dealer for Mercury Magnetics and can sell them at 20% below what they normal cost. I'm authorized to also install them if anyone needs that service in the future.

Choke RAND-RM100-C is $30 ( $24 through me )
Output transformer RAND-RM100-O is $270 ( $216 through me )
Power transformer RAND-RM100-P is $325 ( $260 through me )

The power transformer is a monster with all the world voltage taps of the stock transformer. The one specification I asked for in this transformer was to make sure the 6.3V power tube heater taps were rated to handle the current draw of up to four KT88 tubes. KT88 tubes draw almost double the amount of heater current of any other tube and most heater windings are not rated to deal with it for very long.

Overall, these transformer upgrades are designed to run cooler, provide better tone, last longer, and operate more consistent than the stock transformers. I can't wait to get these in my amp :D

EDIT: RM50 and RM80 upgrades
Choke MC10H is $30 ( $24 through me )
Output transformer O50JM-MM is $200 ( $160 through me )
Power transformer... Not available yet.

Soulinsane said: