Randall RM50 & RM80 Reverb question

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

Smath22

Active member
Joined
Nov 21, 2012
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
I notice the RM50 head has reverb, but none of the others amps in the range seem to have it, i have two questions?

1) Is the reverb on the RM50 head any good?

2) How is it controlled as i dont see a dedicated pot for it?

Thanks in advance for your help :)
 

kc2eeb

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
1,071
Reaction score
0
Location
New Hampshire
The reverb circuit is built on a circuit board that is attached to the reverb pan.
There is no reverb circuit in the amp chassis itself. The control on the amp is the effects return knob in the parallel loop. There is a 9 volt AC jack on the amp chassis near the input jack that the reverb pan assembly plugs into.
I personally like the reverb. The drive signal going to the reverb circuit is controlled by the master volume on each module, so, you can see how it would vary depending on how you set the modules. I will eventually add an in-line trim pot to the effects send line to the reverb to tame the drive signal down with some modules.
 

Smath22

Active member
Joined
Nov 21, 2012
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
Ah that makes a lot of sense thanks for your answer. Just need to decide wether I buy a RM4 or the RM50 head.
 

kc2eeb

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
1,071
Reaction score
0
Location
New Hampshire
If you buy the RM4, you can still use the reverb tank assembly from a RM50/80. Of course, you need to buy the assembly from someone on the forum. You then need a 9 volt AC (NOT DC) wall wart that can supply 500ma or so. You have to wire the correct socket to the supply.
The circuit on the board attached to the reverb pan has a rectifier and filter built in.
 

Smath22

Active member
Joined
Nov 21, 2012
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
I do like the idea of the RM50 head with built in reverb but i cant help but think 2 modules is not going to be enough for me looking at all the ones availble. RM4 with a matrix power amp is where i'm leaning at the moment.
 

GtrGeorge!

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1,677
Reaction score
2
I wasnt impressed with the spring reverb on my rm50..I was playing 90s stuff and it never sounded quite right...
wasnt awful, I just prefered the rooms I could create with my Gmaj2,by far.

GtrGeorge
 

warmachine67

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
164
Reaction score
0
Location
Alabama
There was a 9v female barrel receptacle on the bottom on my RM50. It is somewhere around the preamp tubes. It is hard to spot, but it is there. Hope that helps.
 

raimdal76

New member
Joined
Jan 20, 2023
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
The reverb circuit is built on a circuit board that is attached to the reverb pan.
There is no reverb circuit in the amp chassis itself. The control on the amp is the effects return knob in the parallel loop. There is a 9 volt AC jack on the amp chassis near the input jack that the reverb pan assembly plugs into.
I personally like the reverb. The drive signal going to the reverb circuit is controlled by the master volume on each module, so, you can see how it would vary depending on how you set the modules. I will eventually add an in-line trim pot to the effects send line to the reverb to tame the drive signal down with some modules.
hi, how the 9 volt ac jack goes into the reverb tank? usually reverb tank has only rca connections..I want to install a reverb tank in my randall rm50. Thanks a lot.
 

raimdal76

New member
Joined
Jan 20, 2023
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
The question is: I don't understand how the 9volt cable under the chassis goes into the reverb tank. Do I have to do some soldering or do I need some specific cap or plug? Thanks a lot


All the best for you.
 
Top