Synergy - identical Red and Blue channels - do they really sound the same ?

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Telmar

Reaction score
A friend of mine, who introduced my to MTS-Synergy three month ago, once said to me:
"I am absolutely sure I can spot a difference between "the identical Red and Blue channels" !
At the beginning, when my RM-100 was not converted with the Yumeo-MIDI-mod I didn't care.
But when I was able to switch between Red and Blue I recognized a difference, too.

Being a technician myself and servicing and repairing tube amps for about 10 years,
till I quit a while ago and being into tube amps for 30 years now I was curious.
First an easy explanation for the non-tech folks here,
so please you other tech guys don't blame me for not being 100% correct.
I think it's helping more people when I stick to the basics.

The general idea of the MTS- and Synergy-system is to have 5 tube stages for the amp designer to work with.
The first stage is located inside the host amp, and it's using one half of a 12AX7 / ECC83 tube,
the other four stages are located on the module itself, using two 12AX7 / ECC83 tubes.

This is important to understand: a double triode tube consists of two amps in one glass bottle !
That's why it's called DOUBLE triode ! (I attached a picture of a 12AX7 lps by Sovtek,
because this is a tube where it's very easy to see for everyone, just by looking at it.

Attachments

• sovtec12AX7lps.jpg
    sovtec12AX7lps.jpg
    61.8 KB · Views: 4
Some very basic amp designing rules (this is important to understand the Red-Blue-Phenomenon):

- to create more gain, you need more tube stages
- to be able to shape the gain structure the way you want, you need more tube stages
- you can design a clean channel with one tube stage only (Vox and Fender did it)