What's everyone having for luck with tubes?

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Evh5150

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the tube amp scene. My rm100 has electro harmonics in it and they work, but what have people talking? What are some good options for the rm100's?

I just replaced my input tube and my phase inverter tubes with JJ 12ax7's and i have been running JJ 6L6GC's in my power section for a while now, they work great have a really nice tone and are very cheap (its around 80 bucks to retube the whole rm50).
-mp-

Tubes are really an individual preference and I normally avoid giving my customers advice. I know plenty of guys who absolutely swear by some of the tubes I like the least and they get great tone from them.

From current production, my two favorites are the JJ ECC83S and the Ruby 12AX7AC HG. They both have very good gain, are very quiet and reliable. Since working on amps is my business, those are very important things to me. Ironically, they are also 2 of the 3 tubes Randall used in the MTS amps as stock tubes. I have well over 150 preamp tubes in the shop (many are highly valued NOS) and for the money these are the best I have found.

For Power tubes, I have had great results with Ruby 6L6GC MSTR, Tung Sol EL34B, Tung Sol 5881, EH KT88 and JJ EL34L in both my own and customer's amps.

Very good advice gentlemen! I will be ordering some very soon and this helps alot!

Not sure why I have settled on these combinations but I like what I hear.

I pretty much use ARS or simple chinese 12AX7B (not A as those are higher gain and I didn't like the response) in all positions except phase inverter where oddly enough, I like a balanced JJ. Ruby is also good with these amps. That said, they are all rebranded chinese so the answer really are "chinese 12ax7b".