Mic Preamp Question for You Recording Guys

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SALVAGED

Reaction score
Ok guys... I've been diving deeper into 500 series recording gear, and trying to decide between preamps for tracking electric guitars.

After researching for months, I've narrowed it down a bit, but wanted to hear your thoughts as well.

What 500 series mic pre would you choose, between these options:

Avedis MA5
Phoenix Audio DRS-1R
Chandler Germanium 500 MKII
Vintech 573

I have no experience with that group listed and just dove into the 500-series pool in March myself. My favorite pres for guitars in no particular order are:

- API 512c (my first 500 purchase)
- Great River ME1-NV
- UA LA-610 (the 610 pre can really flatter distorted guitars)
- Vintech X73i

There's not much I can't cover in that group.

SALVAGED said:
Ok guys... I've been diving deeper into 500 series recording gear, and trying to decide between preamps for tracking electric guitars.

After researching for months, I've narrowed it down a bit, but wanted to hear your thoughts as well.

What 500 series mic pre would you choose, between these options:

Avedis MA5
Phoenix Audio DRS-1R
Chandler Germanium 500 MKII
Vintech 573

What kind of guitar sound are you primarily looking to record? What are some of your favorite records/guitar tones?

Here's my take on those you've listed:

1. Avedis MA5 - Nice sounding preamp. Very similar to the Vintech 573 in that it shares similar characteristics of being smooth, slightly scooped and "Neve-esque". It has plenty of weight and a Neve sonic signature.

2. Phoenix Audio: I have to preface this with the fact that Phoenix Audio's gear has a tendency to break down. Everyone that I've never known to own their summing mixer has had issues. Their gear sounds very good but its reliability should be in question, IMO.