Problems with RM 50 combo

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stratotelepaul

Reaction score
Has anyone had problems with RM 50 combos (or heads) making popcorn noise when you take the standby off? It also has very little volume, and a distorted sound even on the clean module. I changed all the tubes, re-biased and it's still there. I also have an RM 100, so I installed the modules into the big brother and they work fine. Did I mention this is a brand new out of the box amp (2009 model)? It went back to Randall once, only to have it fail again at the second gig. I was very disapointed.
I'm trying to figure out if this amp can handle the road or I just got a bad one. I've been playing the RM 100 2-3 nights a week for the last 6 years so when this one failed twice, I was shocked.
I've just discovered this forum and I think it is great!!!

It's funny you posted this. Tonight I had a similar problem with mine. It sounded like a dying preamp tube, but I swapped them and it still doesn't work. Slight popcorn off of standby, then very crackly and distorted with low volume.

Mine had a few suspect solder joints on v3 a while back when it was really making popcorn. I reflows the joints and it worked fine, but now it's doing a different thing, like your issue. Rob DeAntonio here on the board is an authorized tech. Maybe he will chime in.

I'm hoping we can get a bit of advice on this. Now the issue has a new level of complexity...it is intermittent. I fired up the amp again, and it is working fine. Wesarvin, I hope Rob DeAntonio can chime in too. I'm trying to see if Randall will have me send the amp to Rob for the repair. From other posts I've read, he has a great working knowledge of these amps.