Some tone advice please from all...

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

schlagdog

Reaction score
I'm totally bored again with my tone. I have been using a Line6 Vetta HD for the past 2 years and I am thinking of just starting over again. I go through these phases about every year now. I've been loving some of the tones from Jim on the soundclips page and am leaning towards Randall. I live in vegas and there are no Randall dealers so I just have to go by clips(I need to open a store here). I was leaning towards a Mesa Triple Recto Head just because everyone uses it, or a Rivera Knucklehead. I'm just looking for a tight huge gain and I like the XTC clip and the Recto clip. I also play in a blues band and I use a SRV tone for that. The Vetta actually does a good job there. The TWEED model in the MTS interests me but there aren't any good clips of it to tell for SRV.
Well that's my story.

Sounds like you want a versatile amp. The Randall or Egnater modular amps would work well for you. Depending on which modules you choose you can cover the whole gamut from wicked high gain to super clean. I've never been a big fan of the rectifiers so I can't speak to comparison there, but I'm as happy now (and for a long time) with my amp as I have ever been.

good luck!

Thanks man.
Hey - I've got a Vetta HD as well and the RM4 fulfills a lot of what I usually miss with the Vetta tones.
While it's not got the effects and tweaks that the Vetta does, it will give you a great tube tone that the Vetta can't.