Upgrading Parts on a Randall RG50TC

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

keennay

Reaction score
I recently purchased a Randall RG50TC tube amp & I'm loving it so far with my Jackson DKMGT w/ EMG 81/85 active pickups (I play mostly on the EMG 81 pickup). It's used mostly for hard rock/metal (Dan Donegan's tone from Disturbed).

It comes with everything stock (was bought used), though I was wondering if there would be any major difference if I upgrade certain parts. I'm still a bit new to tube amps, but I was thinking I'd give it a few months before I upgrade any parts so that I'd actually be able to tell the difference.

Here's what it comes with stock:
  • 1 X 12? Celestion Seventy 80
    Four 12AX7EH Preamp Tubes
    Two 5881 Power Tubes
Does anyone have any suggestions for a speaker, preamp tubes, and power tubes?

Try first tungsol 12ax7 preamps tubes, it gives more mid and smoother hi-end. V30 speaker also work well.

As far as speakers go I'd go with a Hellatone 60L from Avatar Speakers.

Then I'd get a 5751 for your V1 position and a 12AT7 for the PI.

I like Winged C for power tubes (try dougs tubes).

Also a boost is always a good idea. I'd try a Digitech Bad Monkey just do to availability and how cheap it is.

Honestly after those mods if you don't like it, I can't help you personally.

Actually I use in my rh50t pretubes sovtek 12ax7wc(raw distortion) and they are very good for metal. I try also svetlana c 12ax7 (fat, bit dark and smooth) tubes but I think sovtek is better for this amp (SOVTEK 12AX7WC). In a power tubes I feel tungsol 5881(good detail and midrange) works best. I try svet. c6l6gc (one of the best tubes.)
also but i think it is too much for maintransformer. (bit overheating). Never feel I need any boost.

I use ESP M1 with blackout2 ,both Randalls ; mts cab and xl cab with v30

VHT Deliverance 60
Randall rt250