Why are tubes going bad in my Clean module?

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roszatycki

Reaction score
So I have been using an RM100 for a few months now. I have 6 modules and have no problems with tubes in any of them with the exception of my Clean module. In the last 3 weeks I have had 2 12ax7's fail, both tubes were brand new when I installed them. The first an EH and the latest was a Mullard. I will get output from the module but only 50% or so after the tube fails. The module is basically stock with the exception of 4 cap upgrades to sprague 715's. The tubes have failed in the V2 position. In the V1 position I have been running a 12au7. I believe the plate resistance is much lower on a 12au7 and wonder if that can be changing the circuit enough to cause damage to the other tube in the module. I am still learning pre-amp theory so would take input from anyone that can help. Thanks

I've nothing really to add here.... tubes ain't what they used to be. The equipment making them is old. Power tubes can last 2 minutes to 3 months. If they make it to 3 months, they may make it a few years, at which time failure rate starts dramtically increasing.

Preamp tubes? Probably the same except they'll last a lot longer if they make it past the three months. I've had them go out in 2 seconds and another one in 2 months.

Go figure.

I've got a 40 year old used Mullard 12AX7 running in my KH1. and 40 yr old used Mullard and Telefunken running in my Deluxe.

A friend of mine has the original Sovtek 5881s still working in his Soldano after 14 years.

It depends upon how lucky you are.

But if you continue to chew through tubes you might want to look at having the module checked by one of the modders.

I chatted with Aspen Pittman (of Groove Tubes), a number of years ago...and since then a number of other Tube people in the know..