Ultra Mods

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JonnyB

Reaction score
Hi Guys, After many months lurking I've finally joined up so greetings to all. This site has been an amazing source of info for me. I have just bought a back up RM100 for my LB and it came with an Ultra module. It seems to have plenty of gain but is very muddy. Does anyone have any tips on how to improve the clarity of this module? I used to be a professional electronics engineer but I never touched anything over 15 Volts. :wink:

If your Ultra is an early version (possibly chrome or black-stripe face plate), you can change capacitor C3 from .0047? to .0022? and remove the capacitor C10 (470p) to get a "tighter bass". This mod is documented elsewhere on this site.

If your Ultra is a later version (probably a black face-plate), the stock module already has these 2 mods.

Let us know which Ultra version you have and, if you make these mods, what the outcome is.

Thanks for your quick reply Graham. It seems I have a very early model with black stripe faceplate. C3 is a blue plastic film capacitor and seems to be .0047u. I'll make the mod you suggested and report back.

I'm sure there was also some info somewhere on the site about shifting the mid freq range which I think would help a lot. Can't seem to find it now though.

Cheers!

JonnyB said:
Thanks for your quick reply Graham. It seems I have a very early model with black stripe faceplate. C3 is a blue plastic film capacitor and seems to be .0047u. I'll make the mod you suggested and report back.

I'm sure there was also some info somewhere on the site about shifting the mid freq range which I think would help a lot. Can't seem to find it now though.

Cheers!

I think that's Capacitor C14....but I didn't turn it up in search either.

Some suggestions:

- Change C3 to either a .001 or .0015 cap to tighten the bottom.